PDA

View Full Version : how did they machine it.

dr pepper
10-21-2009, 02:46 AM
Took mi pillar drill apart, an old brit fobco, and noticed that the shaft the driven pulley fits on above the quill has a hole through it with a key, no problem, but on closer inspection what I thought was a hole with a key slot and a key isnt, its all one piece, fobco have machined a hole with a integral key protrusion.
I've tried to remove what I thought was the key and its deffo one piece.
How did they machine that one out then.

barts
10-21-2009, 03:20 AM
Well, hmmm.

It's a degenerate splined hole, of course...
At home, one could furnace braze the key in place.
One could imagine a special broach to do such a thing.
If this were some sort of alloy rather than cast iron, it could be die-cast.

- Bart

macona
10-21-2009, 03:43 AM
They probably broached it.

dr pepper
10-21-2009, 06:11 AM
I wondered about a broach, I have little experience of broaching, 'cept for using a rotor broach for bashing big holes in concrete flooring to put machine mounts in.

Doc Nickel
10-21-2009, 07:00 AM
It could have been made on a shaper or a slotter, too. Several of my books show rotary-table like devices for standard shapers for doing splined holes, and of course most slotters have such a table built in. Might be more likely than a big broach.

Doc.

dr pepper
10-21-2009, 07:59 AM
So if you were using a slotter then, you'd drill a smaller hole, and using the slotters cutter and the rotary head slot out the hole bigger, but skip the bit where you'd want the key to be, that makes sense, fobco probably had a slotter with auto feed and adjustable limit switches for semi auto operation.