PDA

View Full Version : How to Shim a Few Tenths

Paul Alciatore
11-08-2009, 04:12 AM
My question is just that. How would you shim something a few tenths? I know common aluminum foil is about seven tenths, but what If I need a finer adjustment? Some way to work in two or three tenth increments. And I am not willing to spend $50 or $100 for big rolls or shim stock. I'm looking for the bargain basement solution.

I know someone will ask exactly what I am up to so I'm trying to change the angle of my headstock by a few tens of minutes. I am not experienced at scraping and do not want to try that at this point. It's a SB9 with the headstock resting on a Vee way at the rear and a flat way at the front. Since the rotation is so small, I figure a shim on the front of the Vee at one end of the headstock and on the back of the Vee at the other end, will rotate it by a small amount. I calculated about 0.001" at each end, but I am sure some trial and error will be involved. And, yes I know I will raise it a little bit and will have to also shim the tailstock. Actually, that is part of the reason why I want to be able to work in tenths as the two may not need exactly the same amount.

Timleech
11-08-2009, 04:29 AM
My question is just that. How would you shim something a few tenths? I know common aluminum foil is about seven tenths, but what If I need a finer adjustment? Some way to work in two or three tenth increments. And I am not willing to spend $50 or $100 for big rolls or shim stock. I'm looking for the bargain basement solution.