PDA

View Full Version : OT - Lost Network Access - Vista

Marc M
11-20-2009, 03:22 AM
I've got a Gateway computer (FX6800 series) I purchased a year ago, currently running Vista Home Premium. Vista is the worst piece of software I've ever suffered through, and I started playing with computers back in the late 70's! I tried to install XP but could never come up with the right network drivers so I couldn't get online to register it. I've heard a lot of positive comments regarding Win 7 so I purchased it. I'm hoping that all the software I've got that won't run under Vista will work in 7 using virtual XP machines.

My problem is I lost my network connection. Everything was working properly, then the day after I ordered Win 7, I tried to get on the internet and was unable to connect. I turned on my laptop and it was able to connect to the internet fine. Since it's wireless and the computer is ethernet, I turned on another desktop computer connected via ethernet and it also connected without issue. I disconnected it and plugged it into the faulty computer. The computer still won't connect so I know it's not an ISP, router, or cable issue. Both functioning computers see each other on the network, but not the faulty one. Running the Vista 'Network Diagnostics' applet has not been able to resolve the issue and says to contact my ISP. The network adapter (integrated on m/b) is showing that it's enabled and functioning properly under Control Panel/Hardware. I have not had time to run IPCONFIG or tried pinging the router at this point. I've recieved Win 7, but need to sort out the network issue before attempting to install it.

So I'm looking for any ideas/tips/tricks on resolving Vista network issues. Any good diagnostic utilities available that might simplify the process? Any input is greatly appreciated.

Marc -

kendall
11-20-2009, 07:38 AM
Has it auto-updated recently?