PDA

View Full Version : Finally a Drill Press Tool Gloat

KiloBravo
11-21-2009, 01:47 PM
I have been looking for a Drill Press for two years. I have a bench top crappy HF drill press that I use when needed. Anyway I finally hit pay dirt on craigs list. It was made for Sears nice heavy duty with two tables and built in light. The motor is a 1/2 HP and can be wired for 120v or 220v. The speed range is 380 to 8550. Only thing that worries me is the little belt. I snapped a few pics with my cell phone.

Drill head with tap chart
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2681/4121964295_d7ae9b366c.jpg

Base with two tables
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2734/4122736606_e737a29254.jpg

Speed Chart for belts
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2646/4122736558_972c70893b.jpg

Ghop Shop
11-21-2009, 02:04 PM
Nice find! Not to worry, I have been using a small belt Craftsman DP for over thirty years and have replaced the belt only one time.

Gayle Hopson

RichTes
11-21-2009, 02:50 PM
I had one a while ago. Wanted a lower low end for WWing, but the craftsman was very smooth and had .001 runout. Think it had a light that was handy without another plug. No problem with the belt.

Rich

winchman
11-21-2009, 02:52 PM
I've been using mine since 1978, and it's still got the original belt.

I installed a foot switch in parallel with the original switch to free up a hand. It's a very useful addition.

Does the extra table tilt?

Roger

lazlo
11-21-2009, 03:04 PM
Nice! It's very hard to find a decent drill press anymore...

KiloBravo
11-21-2009, 03:39 PM
Does the extra table tilt?
Roger

Yes the extra table has pin you pull out and then can adjust the angle of the table. I think I might put a small vice on that one.

KiloBravo
11-21-2009, 03:42 PM
Nice! It's very hard to find a decent drill press anymore...