Making Bolt Hole Circles Using Trig

I made this for class.
    Let me know if it sounds correct.
    Thanks.

--Doozer
    DZER
  • Carld
    • Aug 2006

There wasn't any formulas for bolt circles there.

Hmm, my mistake, maybe it had not loaded when I looked.

I guess it would be ok for teaching trig in class but there are easier formulas as well as just using the DRO in your photos.

Are you going to teach a class with it?

During my career as a machinist I never saw any one using trig to solve a bolt circle. Everyone used the machinery handbook or a slide rule chart from Everede or the program in the DRO.
    Last edited by Carld; 11-24-2009, 11:34 PM.
    It's only ink and paper

Comment

• KiddZimaHater
      • May 2007

During my career as a machinist I never saw any one using trig to solve a bolt circle. Everyone used the machinery handbook or a slide rule chart from Everede or the program in the DRO.
      Are you serious ????
      No offense, but Where did you work ?
      Trig'n a bolt circle is easy and quick.
      Sine x angle x radius = one leg
      cosine x angle x radius = opposite leg.
      repeat x,y coordinates as needed around the circle.

Comment

• oldtiffie
        • Nov 1999

Sticky math.

Doozer.

I note that you are or seem to be using all +ve values for linear and angular values.

Using a DRO has its inherent problems.

If you are going to use the +ve and -ve quadrants (and angles) and you are referenced on the center of the circle/flange/pitch circle (X = 0.000, Y = 0.000) then you need to use both +ve and -ve angles and sides of triangles.

Further, you need to show +ve and -ve values of X and Y.

The math can get a bit "sticky" unless all values are all +ve or all -ve.

Its too easy to get "lost" in the +ve (top right and bottom left) and -ve (top left and bottom right) "quadrants".

There is a fair bit of geometry in amongst that trigonometry.

Comment

• wierdscience
          • Jan 2003

For the three times a year I use it-