PDA

View Full Version : Chains and sprockets

davidwdyer
12-15-2009, 07:02 AM
I am planning a little project and need a little advice about chains and sprockets.

I plan to buy the sprockets from McMaster instead of making them
because it seems fast and easy.

However, there seem to be quite a few options.

I want something like a bicycle chain, but there are ANSI and ISO types. What is the difference?

Also, what "number" of chain would be equivalent to a bicycle chain?

Any help would be appreciated. I've never worked with chains and sprockets before.:confused:

winchman
12-15-2009, 07:23 AM
Did you look at the MCMaster-Carr page about chain? Put "roller chain" in the find box, and click on "About Roller Chain".

IIRC bicycle chain is #40 or 1/2" pitch.

Roger

EVguru
12-15-2009, 07:26 AM
I want something like a bicycle chain, but there are ANSI and ISO types. What is the difference?

Here are a couple of useful sites.

http://www.gizmology.net/sprockets.htm

http://www.sprocketsunlimited.com/Chainspecifications.html

A real wierd one is 219 which is used on racing Karts. It was invented by one of the Japanese chain companies and is 7.35mm pitch.

gbritnell
12-15-2009, 07:34 AM
David, roller chain whether ISO or ANSI is just measurements, width, pitches and pin diameters. It just depends on what you're building and how much load you're going to apply to the chain. McMaster lists all the loads and sizes on their site.
gbritnell

Evan
12-15-2009, 08:21 AM
You want chain and sprockets this is the place. Good to deal with too.

http://www.electricscooterparts.com/sprockets.html#fw

wierdscience
12-15-2009, 08:51 AM
#40 is the closest pitch (pin to pin distance)to bicycle chain you can get,except for #41 which is narrower and less common in terms of sprockets.Either is stronger than bike chain.