PDA

View Full Version : Help! Wife has me in a pinch

jb-mck
12-21-2009, 10:55 AM
Long story short, my father-in-law told my wife that he wanted a set of logging tongs for Christmas. The caveat is that he wanted me to make them. Luckily I don't have to deliver by Friday!

Does anyone have a design, material specs, or ideas? I'm a novice at best so any help would be appreciated. The design should be easy enough, but choosing the right material will be critical.

Thanks.

Ken_Shea
12-21-2009, 11:17 AM
Pretty straight forward by the looks of them.
Good quality tongs are likely forged but that is also likely out of the question, were it me, just any steel about 1/2" thick and a good grade 8 bolt for the rivet.

http://www.traditionalwoodworker.com/images/Skidding-Tongs.jpg

Are you sure he wants "Logging" tongs and not "Log" tongs for a fireplace?

wierdscience
12-21-2009, 02:05 PM
Ya,I hope he means firewood tongs,logging tongs aren't as a simple as they look.

Ken_Shea
12-21-2009, 02:59 PM
Ya,I hope he means firewood tongs,logging tongs aren't as a simple as they look.

Never made a set but they look simple enough to me, what would the difficulty be?
If you mean time consuming then agreed, still, straight forward would seem to apply.

Mike Burdick
12-21-2009, 03:35 PM
...Long story short, my father-in-law told my wife that he wanted a set of logging tongs for Christmas....

If you want a "cheap" piece of steel to forge them from go to the junk yard and get a couple of tire irons - they have them all over the place. Once you get them to shape, re-temper them so they'll be strong! If you don't have a forge you can make one very easily and use charcoal as the fuel so no one will complain (People will think you are having a BBQ ;)). As for an anvil...any chunk of steel will work- be inventive!

By the way, once you start making things using a forge you'll find yourself with a whole new hobby...it's very addictive!;)

jb-mck
12-21-2009, 03:41 PM