PDA

View Full Version : Fuse locations

QSIMDO
12-22-2009, 12:27 PM
The wiring diagram for a DC speed control I bought shows fuses wired in between the main switch and the unit itself.

Would that not be redundant since there are breakers in the panel?
(230v)

Carld
12-22-2009, 12:40 PM
What they are probably showing or talking about is a fused disconnect. Are you hard wiring the speed control in or are you plugging it in to an outlet?

japcas
12-22-2009, 12:57 PM
QSIMDO, I'm not an electrician or a guru on electricity so I may not explain this technically correct so I'll try to keep it simple.

Often there will be an inline fuse to protect the equipment because the circuit you plug it into may be capable of handling a bigger load than the device your plugging in. So without an inline fuse your device could be overloaded and burn up without ever tripping the breaker. So the fuse is selected for the load that the device will see which should protect it in case of an overload on the device end.

mayfieldtm
12-22-2009, 01:04 PM
Often times, fuses are to protect the wiring, thus preventing fires.
I would use fuses at the controller for this reason.
Tom M.

QSIMDO
12-22-2009, 01:27 PM
What they are probably showing or talking about is a fused disconnect. Are you hard wiring the speed control in or are you plugging it in to an outlet?

To an outlet.

QSIMDO
12-22-2009, 01:30 PM
QSIMDO, I'm not an electrician or a guru on electricity so I may not explain this technically correct so I'll try to keep it simple.

Often there will be an inline fuse to protect the equipment because the circuit you plug it into may be capable of handling a bigger load than the device your plugging in. So without an inline fuse your device could be overloaded and burn up without ever tripping the breaker. So the fuse is selected for the load that the device will see which should protect it in case of an overload on the device end.