PDA

View Full Version : Curious about CNC!!!!

flyboyziel56
12-27-2009, 01:50 PM
Hi guys I'm new to CNC. In fact I know very little about CNC at all. I have an ENCO 40 that I would love to convert to CNC if at all possible. I figured that I would need to ask the Pros where to start if even it's possible with an old gear driven mill??. I know a little about " G " code but not a lot. I'm fascinated with the concept of CNC or CADCAM. Just thought I would like to venture into your world. any advice would be most appreciated. Thanks Allan:D

jacampb2
12-27-2009, 08:40 PM
You can convert nearly any manual motion control to CNC given enough time and dedication. I can't comment on your specific mill, as I don't know what it is, but I have seen everything to the little harbor freight x2's to full size knee mills converted from manual to CNC.

IMO, and the road I took, find a old NC or CNC machine with defunct controls and convert it. You start with a better suited machine. For instance, my Bridgepot series 2 has boxed ways and ball screws straight from the factory. The boxed ways are far more rigid than dovetail ways and ball screws are in most cases far superior to ACME lead screws for minimizing lost motion and positional accuracy. You can convert a ACME screw machine to ball screws, but the cost is up there a ways. Z axis drive on a machine that was originally manual can be a bit of a cluster f-ck as well. There is no reason you can not convert to CNC with all the original screws and design, but be aware that it may not be as accurate or precise as you would like.

Later,
Jason

Ken_Shea
12-27-2009, 11:12 PM
Allan,
Fascination is a good start, unfortunately, from experience, I can tell you two things,
1) It is generally short lived, turns into a desire or just dies.