PDA

View Full Version : Cad/cam for the hobbyist?

binfordw
12-28-2009, 10:14 AM
I've never used CAM software before. I downloaded a V21 demo of Bobcad and have been messing with it for a few days, I really like it, but the price is high. Not to mention they called me this morning and tried to shove it down my throat, actually had to turn my phone off after they called back 4 times.

Is there a sub $500 CAM software option for the hobbyist?

mattm
12-28-2009, 10:17 AM
If you really like BobCad just keep them on the phone for a while. When I got the demo a few years ago and they called the next day, the price dropped from $3K down to $250 in about 20 minutes.

I didn't like the software so even 250 was too much for me. Maybe it is better now.

matt

binfordw
12-28-2009, 10:27 AM
I noticed that too, I could have swore they were selling me magazines instead of CAM software. I thought I saw V21 was $595 online, they told me it was $2495, but seemed very persistant to make anykind of sale at all.

I'll keep that in mind if I cant find a lower cost option that I dont have to go through a sales pitch to get lol.

PaulT
12-28-2009, 04:07 PM
Try out the demo of SheetCAM from www.sheetcam.com .

Its restricted to 2.5D parts, but you'll probably find that a lot of your parts fit that type, most of mine do. Its a solid program, the price is reasonable and its well supported.

Its CAM only, you need to draw your parts in a 2D CAD package, but there are some pretty good free 2D CAD programs available.

The most powerful one is probably the SolidEdge free 2D program, if you search on that you'll hit the download, but keep in mind that while its powerful it does have some learning curve and its a big ass program.

Good luck-

Paul T.

binfordw
12-28-2009, 09:01 PM
I'll check that out, thanks.

I have TurboCAD 15 currently, so the CAM only would be fine.