PDA

View Full Version : Chronos LTD vs Gloster Tooling (Prices)

Tony
12-29-2009, 09:30 AM
Greets all, am looking into getting the wife some post-christmas
gifts and have been looking at tooling :)

I'm not on mainland US and am looking to buy in the UK. Searching
the forum I've found these two suppliers come up often.

For import tooling on both sites, I'm finding a substantial price difference
and am wondering why that might be.

For example, a metric set of r8 collets (19 pieces, from 2mm-20mm in 1mm)
from Chronos is $120, what looks like the same set from Gloster is $90 and
they give you the stand.

I'm looking to spend about $500 on "stuff" (clamps, chucks, adapters, etc)
and the price difference is really consistent.

Anyone venture a guess as to why? Is Chronos' stuff better quality?

-Tony

boslab
12-29-2009, 09:43 AM
Chronos is reliable i have to say and i've been buying off them since 1979-80
ok its chinese but mostly it works ok [except the groz bender!]
i havent gone overseas much
mark

Tony Pratt
12-29-2009, 10:17 AM
I too have bought a fair bit of kit from Chronos and find it of acceptable quality and accuracy, I have bought 1 collet from Gloster which was also ok.
In my humble opinion buy a sample purchase from Gloster and evaluate to see if it is good enough for your purpose.
I would imagine both of these companies source from the east, how far east is anyone's guess and I am sure the quality will be variable.You could also ask the 2 companies concerned who are their suppliers and the accuracy they will guarantee.

Tony

EVguru
12-29-2009, 10:27 AM
I have the advantage of being able to drop into Chronos on the way to work. They're based in an industrial unit with a combined stock/showroom. Most of their tooling is a mixture of Taiwanese, Chinese and Indian, with quality (although not necessarily value for money) generally decending in that order.