PDA

View Full Version : New Welder Questions

RobbieKnobbie
12-31-2009, 11:08 PM
I recently picked up a HF dual mig 151, along with a spool of flux core Lincoln wire from Lowes.

I laid a couple little puddles right after I set it up and first plugged it in. Half an hour later I came back and tried to lay a bead. Now it seems the arc is strobing on and off at irregular intervals... maybe around 3 ot 4 hz.

I am by no means an accomplished welder, I've used a Lincoln 225amp AC stick welder a good bit, but I've never done MIG before at all.

I've tried keeping the wire about 1/4 inch out of the nozzle, but going longer or shorter doesn't seem to make a big difference.

Any ideas guys?

gnm109
01-01-2010, 10:29 AM
I recently picked up a HF dual mig 151, along with a spool of flux core Lincoln wire from Lowes.

I laid a couple little puddles right after I set it up and first plugged it in. Half an hour later I came back and tried to lay a bead. Now it seems the arc is strobing on and off at irregular intervals... maybe around 3 ot 4 hz.

I am by no means an accomplished welder, I've used a Lincoln 225amp AC stick welder a good bit, but I've never done MIG before at all.

I've tried keeping the wire about 1/4 inch out of the nozzle, but going longer or shorter doesn't seem to make a big difference.

Any ideas guys?

Check your ground to the work. If that's OK, then hop in the car and take it back.

radkins
01-01-2010, 10:45 AM