PDA

View Full Version : Hydraulic Stacker

ligito
01-03-2010, 06:39 PM
I need to provide a manual hydraulic stacker to a friend, to stack ATV's on pallet shelving, 48 inches and up, above the floor.

It is for a residential garage and I will install commercial pallet shelving.

The ATV's are under 1,000 lbs and about 6 ft long.
If necessary, we can custom build lifting platforms, or pallets.

Will the knowledgable among you let me know if the following product is up to the task?
http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/items/4VME2

Willy
01-03-2010, 06:48 PM
My biggest concerns would be stability.
Unlike a forklift which has a considerable amount of mass down low to stabilize the load, this unit although capable of lifting a 1000lb easily, would have all of the weight up high.

japcas
01-03-2010, 07:08 PM
I'm no engineer so take this with a grain of salt. I see no reason why the lift you listed wouldn't lift a 600 to 800 pound atv. This unit is designed to lift pallets anyway and has a load capacity of 1600 pounds. The lift doesn't know what's on it anyway. As always you would just have to be careful when pushing it forward to set the pallet off on the shelf.

Tinkerer
01-03-2010, 07:16 PM
I'd make a four post platform lift.. drive the first one on the lift raise then push the next under it. Could use hydraulics or cables for the lift mechanism... or camper jacks.

ligito
01-03-2010, 07:18 PM
For under $1600 and has the portability to lift an ATV to different platforms?

I spoke with Grainger Techs and sales people on a conference call and they seem to think it would work but I want to know from the forum, what your opinion is.

Your Old Dog
01-03-2010, 07:40 PM
It may raise it your 48" but how does it slide it onto the shelf with that skinny footprint? Are there runners that go out from the feet for more stability. I can see how it raises it but don't understand what you do when you get the ATV up there?

Pherdie
01-03-2010, 07:52 PM