PDA

View Full Version : Pseudo turner's cubes

dave5605
01-07-2010, 04:46 PM
I call these pseudo cubes because they are still attached to each other and not loose.

I need more practice to try and do a loose one. Maybe in the next couple of months. Bought some Acetal/Delrin chunks on ebay to try.

I'm basically new to this metal working thing with about 20-30 hours mill time with a benchtop mill and probably 15 hours 'hacker' lathe time on a old Takisawa 14x40.

Anyway, cubes, 6061 aluminum
1/2", 3/4" and 1-1/4" I have made several of each. All but two have some kind of screwup (too deep, off center). Even with a DRO setup on the mill I can screw it up (not paying attention).

The two smaller ones made on the mill with a 5c square collet setup. The 1-1/4 one was on the lathe with a modified W&S (I think that is who made them) 3 piece collet really made for some kind of automated setup (got them real cheap on ebay).

Trying to keep track of the dang dials on the lathe is a challenge for this newbie. I did manage to set up a carriage stop for the depth but reading the dial wrong on it didn't help. :mad:

Formula for the bores is 85% of the length of a cube side for the bore diameter and 15% for the depth.

Doing the one on the lathe took probably 3+ hours. No I won't be hiring in to any commercial shops any time soon.:p

The ones on the mill were a lot simpler. Hardest part was getting the no name collet holder centered within a thou (or so). Once set up took about 45 minutes to make a 1/2" cube.

On the ones I did on the mill I just bought mills the right diameter (within reason) so basically it was a plunge to depth operation.

1/2" cube...
1st bore---.425 dia, .075 deep (used 11MM mill (.4331))
2nd bore---.298 dia., .053 deep (used 19/64 mill (.2969))
3rd bore---.208 dia., .037 deep (used 13/64 mill (..2031))
Final hole drilled with a #40 drill bit (had to center drill first though or the bit wandered).

3/4" cube used 7/32, 9/32 and 7/16 mills