PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with Ivan Law's book

davidwdyer
01-07-2010, 05:50 PM
I'm studying Ivan Law's idea for home made gear cutters. He has a setup using buttons. Those who have the book will know what I am talking about.

What I don't understand is on pages 114 and 115.

There he has charts for sizes of "buttons" and their distances from each other.
The number are labeled as "Ins" which seems to be inches. BUT, that makes no sense to me. :confused:

Could it be, for example, that on page 114 cutter no. 1, the distance between the buttons is 49.60 inches? That would take some humongous lathe.:eek:

Any help with these charts would be appreciated. Could the measurements be in millimeters?

dp
01-07-2010, 06:05 PM
If the buttons for cutter #1 are .513" in diameter then there's no way you're going to get their centers closer than .513". Either there's an error in the text or it doesn't say what I think it says.

loose nut
01-07-2010, 06:28 PM
The numbers shown can't be Inches or MM, look at the W if it was 4" it is way to wide and 4mm is way to narrow. I made some gear cutters many years ago according to this book and all I can remember is that this section gave me fits to. The button size for making a form tool for cutting a 20 gear, I can't remember the DP, was about 3/8".

I think the info in the charts has to be put into an equation to get your answers but its been to long and I don't remember how I did it.

The answer may be in an earlier section of the book.

davidwdyer
01-07-2010, 06:29 PM
If the buttons for cutter #1 are .513" in diameter then there's no way you're going to get their centers closer than .513". Either there's an error in the text or it doesn't say what I think it says.

That's what confusing me. Perhaps there is some numbering system common to the Brits that I don't understand.

Hey you guys over on the other side of the pond, how about a little help here.

loose nut
01-07-2010, 06:34 PM