PDA

View Full Version : Gear cutting for dummies.

JTToner
01-09-2010, 10:02 AM
For starters, I'm neither machinist nor engineer. I've no experience with gears other than regularly breaking them in my 1949 Ford's tranny when I was in high school. So, I'm looking for a book on cutting gears. I tried to fathom Machinery's Handbook, but it was well over my head. Is there some reference that distills it down to depth of cut for a given number of teeth on a blank of a given major(?) diameter and a given PA? That's what would serve me well. For example, say I want to make a pair of gears for 2:1 reduction. One of my gear blanks might be from 2" dia. stock, and I want a 20* PA. Where do I go from there? I looked to some books at Amazon, but I don't even know enough about gears to decide which book would be appropriate. I need "Gear Cutting For Dummies".

johnny

Glenn Wegman
01-09-2010, 10:07 AM
Scroll down to the link for gears. It will give you a little basic info as far as size calculations.

http://shopswarf.orconhosting.net.nz/sindex.html

JCHannum
01-09-2010, 10:50 AM
The Ivan Law book, Gears and Gear Cutting is the best introduction to theory and cutting of gears bar none.

http://www.amazon.com/Gears-Gear-Cutting-Ivan-Law/dp/0852429118

precisionmetal
01-09-2010, 11:08 AM
Johnny,

There are some general rules that apply to most all gears.

The OD of a blank to make a gear is (N+2)/DP

In other words, if you were cutting say... a 21 tooth gear that is 12DP 20°PA, you would simply do: (21+2)/12

The OD of the blank should be 1.917".

The depth to cut (aka: "whole depth") should be 2.25/DP (2.25/12 in the above example) which would be .1875".