PDA

View Full Version : Machinists that taught or inspired me

Carld
01-13-2010, 05:32 PM
A few minutes ago I was in the shop making an alignment tool for a friend. It was several long cuts and I got to thinking, who inspired me to do what I have become.

I started as a self taught machinist doing home shop machining. Then later I moved to Missouri and started a full time small engine repair shop and doing machine work. I started doing some part time work for a man that made tree clearing attachments for Caterpillar tractors. He was a master machinist and I learned some from him just working for him on odd jobs. He was not real talkative and I had to draw things out of him.

After a stint with Cummins I moved back to Kentucky and went into job shops and learned from some of the older machinists because I asked questions and listened. The first shop I worked I had the pleasure of making friends with a man that was a machinist at Oak Ridge on the Atomic bomb project. I learned a lot from Bob and eventually bought his lathe and mill and other stuff when he quit his home shop. Bob died from medical problems related to working on and around radiation materials. He was a kind and gentle person and had a wealth of information and I picked his mind all I could.

The second to last shop I worked there was a machinist that some would not class as a master machinist but was so damn close that it would be hard to argue he wasn't. He worked in many shops and the last before where I met him he was machining FA Uzi machine pistols, and other Fa guns. He had a vast knowledge of machine work and while cantankerous I got along well with him. Anytime I had something I was having trouble with I went to Dan and bounced it off him. He could run manual machines and CNC machines and he was extremely good at all he did.