PDA

View Full Version : WHat collets do i have????



heck914
01-14-2010, 11:13 AM
Hey Fellas, Mark from CT, first post, been poking around here for a bit.

I got a '55 Bridgeport M head about 8 months ago. I wanted to get some end mill adapters so i can use some larger and oddball mills and cutters that i picked up cheap.
I know the M head could have have either a MT2 or a B+S #7. I thought i had a MT2 so i bought an adapter. It is too loose, tightens all the way down and still has some side to side play.
So next i bought a spare B+S collet to try for size. only trouble is the new collet is longer and the drawbar bottoms out before it tightens up.

Ill let the pictures tell the story. Can anybody shed some light on this???
pics:
http://public.fotki.com/heck91426/misc/1-10-10-032.html

http://public.fotki.com/heck91426/misc/1-11-10.html

Thanks!
Mark

aboard_epsilon
01-14-2010, 11:21 AM
you are going to have to put your drawbar in the lathe ...

sinq the cutter with the threads ...and put more threads on it .

and then maybe cut the end of the draw bar off ..
i don't know you don't say ..if it has run out of thread on the drawbar ..or ..the draw bar is bottoming out in the collet .

all the best.markj

ERBenoit
01-14-2010, 11:28 AM
Not relevant to the thread, but where in CT are you?

Bguns
01-14-2010, 04:30 PM
Here are drawings for the drawbars...
http://bridgeport.askmisterscience.com/drawbar.htm

Tha asian import collets have tight threads, and are often not threaded deep enough...

On mine, I ran a good quality, sharp tap down collet to chase threads a little deeper.

Shortening the drawbar will work as long as you only use asian collets..

Nobody mentioned the B3 collets, also used on the M head...

heck914
01-14-2010, 09:13 PM
Thanks for the responses! I will try and tap the import collet and see if that works. If i could get a 5/8 and 3/4" end mill adapter to work i will be all set .

Mark