PDA

View Full Version : lathe instruction

jan mensink
10-20-2003, 07:18 PM
I am new to metal working, and have just purchased a new lathe, milling machine, metal bandsaw. I realize that I need more knowledge about operating this equiptment. Do you have any recomendations wrt lathe operating books or videos that are good and wont break the bank.
jan

ibewgypsie
10-20-2003, 07:24 PM
Look for some Guy Lautard books. I bought mine off ebay.

Been a lot of help from this board too. I try to give back when I can..

David

darryl
10-20-2003, 07:50 PM
The first book I read was a high school textbook called 'technology of machine tools'. I have re-read that book so many times now I can't count. It covers a lot of ground in all fields of metalworking. Maybe there's a copy rusting in a school somewhere that could be had for the asking. The educational mandate requires new texts from time to time, but that doesn't obsolete the info in the old versions, it just makes those books lay around somewhere. There's more in there than I have absorbed, and I've been at this (hobby) for over ten years.
Welcome to the group.

Al Messer
10-20-2003, 08:10 PM
Any Vocational Schools or Tech Colleges in your area that offer evening classes for Adults? I went to one here for a couple of years and really learned a lot of helpful stuff.

beckley23
10-20-2003, 09:38 PM
The best lathe book I have seen is South Bend's "How to Run a Lathe".
Harry

shaque
10-20-2003, 09:48 PM
Ya know, ya get yourself a book and by the time you understand it all, ya will have read it ay least a hundred times, cause ya keep comin back to it fer reference. just don't read the words right off the page. serious now., the southbend books and some of the ones from th UK (if you can sort out the different references to the parts of the lathe) will give you a good understanding of the operation of the lathe. try some of the projects that you see in the HSM mags and others just to get your feet wet...
lots of luck