PDA

View Full Version : Maximat V10

willjordan
02-22-2002, 02:27 PM
I finally got my Maximat V10 mounted on the workbench and made my first chips last night, putting a couple of reference faces on a base for a model duplex pump.

Here's a picture of the newly installed tool: http://www.trainweb.org/willsrr/lathe.jpg

More pictures can be found on my website at http://www.trainweb.org/willsrr/lathe.html

I'm still a rookie at all of this, I decided to make a few chips right away, rather than to wait for all of the truing, tramming, etc. Things bumped a bit as the selected end mill holder/end mill had some runout and the two flute mill thumped a bit while working the in the brass.

But chips is chips.

And a freshly milled brass surface can be shiny.

------------------
grace & peace
will

willjordan
02-22-2002, 02:47 PM
In September, I purchased the Maximat V10 in the previous post (for $1000, including tooling.) It's taken this long to clear a spot to build the bench, build the bench, locate the bench and install the lathe.

I also should note that wednesday night I unpacked much of the tooling that came with the lathe (my wife packed all of the loose drawer contents so some of it was new to me.)

For chucks and such, I have the 5" 3jaw from the mandufacturer with both sets of jaws, a 6" 3jaw of unknown manufacturer, and a 4" 4jaw on a 4MT. The factory facleplate is also there.

I also have a plate with a threaded spigot to match my spindle, to allow mounting a chuck on a milling table or rotary table.

I have a Jacobs #14 Superchuck on a 4MT,
On 2mt I have a Jacobs 28, Jacobs 3a, and an Almond Co. 40-39

There are various boring bars, tool bits, including indexible carbide with a good supply of inserts, and some mt adaptors (There are a lot of 1mt drils and reamers, I found 3 1mt-2mt adapters to fit the 2mt milling spindle)

A nine drawer wooden cabinet contained more tooling including drill bits, reamers and several unknown items.