PDA

View Full Version : Mig Welding Question

motoracer
10-23-2003, 02:56 PM
I'm about to buy a Lincoln 175 amp Mig welder. They have two models - one with continuous voltage adjustment and one with 5 voltage tap settings.

Ultimately, I plan to buy a TIG, but for the next couple of years, a MIG should suit me just fine. Does anybody have any comments on whether the continuous voltage adjustment is *really* worth while?

If the budget was limited and you could choose between tapped voltage settings at 175 amp, or continuous voltage at 130 amp, which would you choose?

Thanks!
-Chris

pgmrdan
10-23-2003, 03:06 PM

[This message has been edited by pgmrdan (edited 11-16-2003).]

Joel
10-23-2003, 04:21 PM
If you need to weld metal thick enough to require 175 amps, you need a 175-amp welder. My guess is that you will soon enough. I always seem to want more capacity. It has been my experience, (I'm not a prof welder) that migs are not so sensitive that you need infinitely variable settings. You will likely have no trouble with 5 settings. This was a concern to me when I bought my Lincoln mig. I wanted a variable model, but got a great deal on a fixed. After a few uses I didn't care about that anymore, wasn't an issue. Sure have wished for a bigger machine though.

AmickRacing
10-23-2003, 08:27 PM
I don't think you'll notice a huge difference between the continuous vs the tap. I prefer the continuous, but once you get used to the tap settings you'll hardly ever wish you had the continuous (in my opinion, both will well just fine).

A few things to think about with the 175 vs the 130. 1st, not only will the 175 weld thicker materials, but for moderate materials it'll weld longer (within it's duty cycle), where as the other one will likely have a shorter duty cycle. Now I've rarely ever had a problem with duty cycle, but for some reason I end up scratching my head a lot trying to figure out what to do next, so the welder can rest.