PDA

View Full Version : Greetings and looking for suggestions

PeterB
01-29-2010, 12:22 PM
Hi All,
Peter here. I'm a student at a local community college in the machine tool program. This is the second semester of the manual machining year and next year will be primarily CNC machining. Among other courses, I'm also taking a SolidWorks 3-d modeling class and an Autocad course. For the second half of this semester in machining we are free to work on projects of our own choice/interest. For the second half of our SoldWorks course we are required to submit a design project of our own choosing. So I'm looking for suggestions. Something that would be suitable for machining and Cad requirements. I was thinking of something along the lines of the Tesla Turbine engine that I came across in the sept/oct issue of HSM. I just have the 1 issue so i woiuld have to see if I could get the follow-up back issues.
But I thought I would put the question out there to other machinists, experienced machinists. What would you suggest for a project? Are there project books that you could recommend. I know there are the HSM project books but i would like to know what is included in a particular edition before purchasing one.
FYI. I'm not a young student out of high school. Far from it. I'm 51 years old. Always been mechanically inclined and have had a an aptitude for the way things go together. I've spent most of my working life as a builder/contractor and then as cabinetmaker/shopowner. I won't go into the details of why I'm not doing that anymore but the economy has played a large part. I think it's, just barely, not to late to shift gears and try something anew for a vocation.