PDA

View Full Version : Surface Grinding Wheels

Pherdie
02-04-2010, 10:14 PM
I recently purchased a 7", 3/4 hp surface grinder for home shop use. Based on advice from this forum, I also purchased four additional wheel hubs in order to mount a selection of wheels. I have no experience or training in surface grinding. Grinding will be primarily on small, mild steel pieces, but may include HSS, aluminum (6061), grey cast iron and brass. I don't expect mirror finishes will be required.

Ignoring the fact the unit comes with one wheel, what four wheels would make up a versatile selection for my home shop use??

Fred

doctor demo
02-04-2010, 10:52 PM
What Grinder followed You home? I know You've been looking for one for a while.
All I have is white Norton wheels, general purpose. I've never ground alum. or brass, but I have ground rubber.
Post a pic or two Fred, You know the drill:D .

Steve

tdmidget
02-04-2010, 11:08 PM
For hardened steels, Norton 38A, 46 or 60 grit,h hardness
for mild steels Norton 32A, 46 or 60 grit, j hardness
for the nonferrous. Norton 86C 46 or 60 grit, j or k hardness
Maybe a Diamond wheel for tungsten carbide?
Better yet, Let Evan guide you. His wife is in the biz. Maybe SGs would be more versatile.

Ken_Shea
02-04-2010, 11:29 PM
Fred, hope you don't mind my butting in with a question.

Been wanting a SG for years, just bought one a week ago, not able to get it picked up as yet, anxious to get it here, up and running. A manual B&S No.2 6x18

My question, there is a like new diamond wheel on it but some one had gouged a perpendicular slot across the face about 1/8" wide with a fixture that was on it.

Is the wheel still usable or just cause for problems?

Carld
02-04-2010, 11:38 PM