PDA

View Full Version : buying end mills

kjbllc
02-05-2010, 07:01 PM
I was looking to buy some end mills, maybe a set for under $100. I have a hardinge horizontal. I have about 12 collets with it and I was looking at a set of cleavland in enco. I am just learning about all this so any help would be appreciated. I don't have any projects that I am doing right now, just want to try facing a plate or cutting a slot to learn how. kevin

http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PARTPG=INSRAR2&PMAKA=317-0827&PMPXNO=18402261

Black_Moons
02-05-2010, 07:19 PM
that looks like a good set, but be aware you can often get a 10 set of endmills (generic chinese) for about the same price ($60~)
if your new and not up on all the SFM/feed/etc math, you might consider getting the cheapest set you can as you'll be likey to burn out a couple and maybe not ever use some sizes.. the cheap set will let you buy really good indivual ones to replace the ones you use and burn out, and ignore the other sizes untill a day you really need them.

recoilless
02-05-2010, 07:45 PM
that looks like a good set, but be aware you can often get a 10 set of endmills (generic chinese) for about the same price ($60~)

As much as I've been frustrated by cheap end mills, this a good thought if you are still learning. I've been much more frustrated by wrecking a $20 end mill. Oddly, I was given a set of the ubiquitous coated import sets when bought an old mill drill some years ago and I still have about half of them. It took me half of them to "learn".

These days, I wreck end mills mostly when hitting rapid traverse before checking to see if the end mill will clear the work. It's usally a really nice 1/4 ball or something..

beanbag
02-05-2010, 08:28 PM
I suggest you don't buy the cheapo chinese end mills, coz otherwise you'll be back here in about two weeks asking why this end mill doesn't cut well, or how come it leaves a big burr, etc. IMHO you should learn how a good end mill works, not a bad one.