PDA

View Full Version : New CNC Mill, Advice on Training

Xtreem
02-11-2010, 12:46 AM
I have just received my first CNC machine, a Jet knee mill with the Accu Rite Mill Pwr 3 axis CNC system. I have no experience with programming a CNC machine, G codes, CAD, or MasterCam. I was going to sign up for a class at my community college but I am not sure what order I should take them or which ones would give me the most bang for my buck. They have a class on Solid Works, a class on Master Cam, a class that is an introduction to CNC that seems based around learning the G codes and programming. Another class that is an introduction to CAD/CAM that seems based around writing a mill program on a PC. Below are the official descriptions. Each class is a significant amount of time and resources for me so any advice I can get would help me a great deal.

PMT0251 Introduction to CNC Machining (PSAV)

Course Description
The basic set up, operation and programming of Computer Numerical Controlled (CNC) machines are covered. Student will coordinate activities of the CAD/CAM software packages and the machine controls to produce hardware to blueprint tolerances.

PMT0258 CNC Milling Methods (PSAV)

Course Description
This course will develop advanced level competencies in the operation of Computer Numerical Controlled (CNC) milling machines and create CNC code from parts geometry. Students will demonstrate safe operating procedures and standard set-up and control of CNC milling equipment.

PMT0260 Introduction to CAD/CAM Programming (PSAV)

Course Description
This course provides an introduction computer aided operations for machining technology. The students will familiarize with the basic operation and programming of Computer Numerical Controlled (CNC) machines and Computer-Aided Design/Computer-Aided Manufacturing (CAD/CAM). Students will use CAD drawing and CAM programming techniques to design, program and machine a part using the CAD/CAM process.