PDA

View Full Version : Salvaging 25mm end mill

taydin
02-14-2010, 04:40 PM
I had recently bought a decent quality 25mm HSS end mill. My intention was to use this end mill for surface machining.

When I was working with the chinese vise on the milling machine, I noticed that the vise ways were not parallel to the vise bottom. The error was 0.15 millimeter. Being a newbie, I installed the 25 mm end mill into the milling machine and started machining the vise ways. I used about 1400 RPM and the slowest feed rate. The depth of cut was very little, maybe less than 0.1 mm.

But pretty soon, smoke started to emerge from the end mill. I stopped the machine and removed the end mill. The vise ways had a horribly marred surface and the cutting tips of the end mill were all dark. I later found out that the vise ways were hardened and only a surface grinder would be able to correct the out of parallel ways.

I found a surface grinder shop and had the ways and the jaws of the vise fixed. But what about the end mill? Can it somehow be salvaged? I paid about 50$ for it, so I really can't throw it out. The side cutters are still in good shape and very sharp, but the bottom cutters are busted.

beanbag
02-14-2010, 04:57 PM
end mills can be resharpened by a shop with the right jig. Around here, it would cost about $12 (SF bay area) but probably less elsewhere.

A carbide end mill would have been able to cut the vise

taydin
02-14-2010, 05:05 PM
end mills can be resharpened by a shop with the right jig. Around here, it would cost about $12 (SF bay area) but probably less elsewhere.

A carbide end mill would have been able to cut the vise

But I think the problem with the end cutters isn't just dullness. Because of the excess heat, wouldn't they have lost their temper? If this is the case, then it could be sharpened, but it would not be HSS anymore, but a weaker steel, no?

John Stevenson
02-14-2010, 05:09 PM