PDA

View Full Version : Do you make your own step blocks?

MrDan
02-22-2010, 10:29 PM
So as I've mentioned here before, I'm brand new to machining and am still outfitting my shop. I have all the big stuff (mill, lathe, etc), plus I have all the calipers, micrometers, etc.

My question is, am I a fool for ordering step blocks, etc for clamping work to the table? I currently own a couple of c clamps and that's about it for what will work on metal (all my clamps are for woodworking). Are step blocks just mild steel and I should just go in and make my own or since I'm basically starting from scratch should I order a small set to get me started, then make new ones as I need them for each project till I have an assortment? I like the idea of starting with new because it means I have things sized appropriately but they seem so simple that if I can't make them, maybe I'm not ready to make something more critical.

FYI, I can grab any amount of scrap steel from our surplus steel bin at work so if these things are just mild steel, I can work with parts taken off of tractors (usually good quality steel in good shape), cut them down to size and then machine them so basically all I'll have is labor invested. I have to think that clamping isn't the most precise part of what we do, excepting getting stuff clamped rigidly and properly so as long as the clamps hold, that's enough??

Tim Clarke
02-22-2010, 11:02 PM
The cheapy hold down kit I have for my BP mill was cheap, and I had it all at once. They seem to be hardened, maybe case hardened but it's tough to file off burrs. When I got my Sheldon horizontal the stuff for the big mill was too big for the small t-slots and tiny table. I've made up whatever I've needed out of whatever was handy at the time, including Aluminum. They work just fine. If you gave the metal, and the urge to make chips, go for it.

TC

fishfrnzy
02-22-2010, 11:02 PM