PDA

View Full Version : OT Quit smoking! How long did you quit?

vpt
03-06-2010, 01:48 PM
Someone on another forum was talking about smoking and tar getting on machines.

I have been smoking for 16 years and just quit a month ago. I have had a couple cigarettes here and there from friends. This is my third try at quitting, first time lasted for 2 months, 2nd time for 6 months. I am going to make this time work. It has just gotten to expensive and everyone tells me it is unhealthy.

So how long have you been smoking? How long has it been since you quit? Any helpful ideas for helping the quit process?

rmancini
03-06-2010, 02:00 PM
Funny that you should mention .............
I'm on day 52 of "the patch". I guess they help but I sure want to light-up now and then.
I guess that like anything else, some days are really difficult but then others really suck! It's pretty much an on-going battle for me.
I smoked 2+ packs a day for 46 years so I really didn't expect it to be a breeze.
I do intend to hang in there. Try the patches you can get them at COSTCO for a reasonable price. (While you're there, get a drum of ketchup!!)
Lache pas la patate.
Rich

Dr Stan
03-06-2010, 02:11 PM
Well I'm 55 and quit 15 years ago. I started smoking as a teen and really got going while I was in the Navy when a pack was only 13 cents when we were out to sea, or overseas.

I quit with the help of the patch and found it to be very helpful allowing me to step down as when I quit I was smoking a pack to a pack and a quarter a day. Although at one point I was up to 3 packs a day of Paul Maul reds (king size non-filtered).