PDA

View Full Version : Atlas shaper wiring

laddy
03-13-2010, 12:29 PM
Hey,
I have an old Atlas shaper. It has no plate on the motor. It was the early model with no table support. It was not grounded and the wires were screwed up. The motor has two poles on it, upper one and lower one. Two wires go to a toggle switch. From the plug.... Am I correct that white wire goes to upper post and the black wire goes to the switch and the return from switch goes to lower post????? Ground goes to any accessible screw?

Thanks in advance for your help. Fred

laddy
03-13-2010, 02:40 PM
You guys are killing me.....Do I have to beg??? Thanks Fred

Mcgyver
03-13-2010, 03:36 PM
that's how i'd go at it Fred

gvasale
03-13-2010, 04:03 PM
wire the switch in series with the motor. A ground connected to the motor frame with a 3 wire cord? I'm no electrician, but seems easy enough. Forgive me, but this doesn't seem like "rocket science."

laddy
03-13-2010, 04:14 PM
Sure didn't work! I hooked up the white to the top post. The black to the switch leg. The return from the switch to the lower post of the moter and NOTHING! Then I switched them from upper post to lower post and visa versa and Nothing!!!! Don't know what to do next. Thanks Fred

Sharpshootermb
03-13-2010, 04:24 PM
Laddy, take a look at this link, there is somewhat of a wiring diaghram on page 2 of the pdf.

http://www.kinzers.com/don/MachineTools/techman/Atlas%20Shaper.pdf

MuellerNick
03-13-2010, 04:37 PM
Two wires go to a toggle switch.

OMG! Don't play with electrics without clue! ;)
That means, the switch has 4 contcats, right?
Then two wires go from the plug into the switch, then two wires from the other side of the switch to the motor.

If the switch has only 2 contacts, it simply breaks one line from the plug, the other one going straight from the plug to the motor.

If your plugs always have neutral on the same wire, the phase ("hot") has to go through the switch!