PDA

View Full Version : Drll bit sharpening question...people w/out drill bits need not read.

Your Old Dog
04-11-2010, 08:01 AM
I have a Drill Doctor and I know how to use it ;)

I have a set of 118 degree drill bits. After reading a thread on the topic a week or so ago I wanted to sharpen one to 135 degrees and split the point... all of which I know how to do on the Drill Doctor.

My question is this, after meeting with meeting with no success I'm suspecting the web on a store bought 135 might be thinner then on a 118 bit. Is that right? Sharpening a 118 to 135 leaves a web to wide to split in my opinion? Anyone have experience with this?

John Stevenson
04-11-2010, 08:09 AM
Sorry can't help because I don't have any drill bits :D :D all mine are in one piece.

Your Old Dog
04-11-2010, 08:24 AM
Sorry can't help because I don't have any drill bits :D :D all mine are in one piece.

You got brown eyes? :D

John Stevenson
04-11-2010, 08:26 AM
Dunno, can't see them .

Peter.
04-11-2010, 08:48 AM
Dunno, can't see them .

THe correct answer is: just the one :)

Duffy
04-11-2010, 09:57 AM
YOD:_ Obviously Your question is too trivial to rate an answer! It seems to me that somewhere in China factory #19B, there are a bunch ogf machines fed on bar stock, (rod stock?) that spit out different sizes of spiral-grooved little rods. These then go to the pointing machines for either a 118* or 135* point. If that is how drills are actually made, it makes no sense to have differing web thickness. Perhaps for different MAKES, or DESIGNS, but I dont think that is what you meant.
Just my thoughts after rolling around on the floor over all that INCREDIBLE wit! Duffy

Rustybolt
04-11-2010, 10:09 AM
The web thickens the further down you go. On most drill bits. There were some early deep fluke drill bits that were pretty consistant most of the way down.
If your drill bits are from different manufacturers there will be a difference.

sidneyt
04-11-2010, 10:15 AM