PDA

View Full Version : power hacksaw issue.

dr pepper
05-06-2010, 04:53 PM
As I've allready mentioned I had a barn find, a model engineers bandsdaw, well also with the saw there was a power hacksaw, a mini model engineers version that uses standard hacksaw blades, well thats what I have fitted, the originals that came with it are 40 years old and rusted up, they are a little wider, from bottom to top not thickness.
The problem is the saw will not cut straight, even after taking it all apart and cleaning, lubing all the parts.
The saw starts the cut perfectly straight, but then starts to wander out to one side as the saw cuts through the job.
I checked the saw arm to the vice and with a square it looks quite accurate.
I tried both a new hacksaw blade and a couple of the ones that came with it in better nick and I still get the same issue.
Any ideas, I'm fairly new to little stuff like this.

Black_Moons
05-06-2010, 05:26 PM
Id think its the same issue that occures with a real hacksaw:
Is the blade tight enough? aka, stupidly tight. Look at the lever mechnism in a normal hacksaw, lots of tension.
Is the machine using too much downforce? Enough force will start to deflect the blade. often its adjustable, even in a spring loaded unit. (or maybe the springs have worn out or one in a set is broken)

Does the hacksaw arm 'ways' have much 'play' in it?

Mike Burdick
05-06-2010, 06:00 PM
dr pepper,

This may not solve the problem but I am curious... What's the tooth count of the blade? On a hand hacksaw the finer the tpi the more the tendency for it to wander off course. Have you tried something like 14 tpi?

dr pepper
05-06-2010, 11:47 PM
Hi mike, didnt know that, the new blade I put in is a fine one, its all I had at 24tpi, I have some 18tpi ones ordered, I'll try one tomoz.
Will also tighten the blade silly tight.