PDA

View Full Version : Pratt Burnerd Multisize Collet System

Stuart Br
05-17-2010, 02:30 PM
Hi,

Anyone have any experience of the above system? Is it any good for the home shop? I am still relatively new to this game. Everyone talks about collets being the ultimate in work holding for round stuff in the lathe. Multisize looks good for its stepless flexibility.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Regards

Stuart

djc
05-17-2010, 03:27 PM
Anyone have any experience of the above system?

Very good system. Very accurate. Somewhat expensive. Make sure you get a full set of collets as individual replacements are hard to find. Make sure you get a chuck key as it's inconvenient to operate without. EC or MC seem the most common size. Holds round or hexagon in the same collet.

Not good at holding short pieces or pieces with a larger diameter at the end inside the spindle unless they are longer than the collet. Compare this with, say, the ER system where the gripping length of smaller diameters is less than the length of the collet. Quite a long overhang from spindle nose.

jugs
05-17-2010, 03:57 PM
Yes, they are excellent, my set ranges from 1/16 1.5mm - 1 1/2 38mm. with good holding, I think the runout is about 0,0004" but my mounting system is such that the work is 7" forward of the front bearing (must change it).

But for accurate work, a collet directly up the spindle nose is always best, as the work is almost surrounded by the bearing.

gmatov
05-18-2010, 02:07 AM
I actually have one that I would like to sell. Problem is, to send it to you would be prohibitive, shipping wise.

I do believe that when I found their site, the price is astronomical.

Mounting is a clamp on the bedway with a butt with a pivot hole in it, similar to the clamp that holds your tailstock where it should be.

You don't drill holes and tap them in the bedway. You clamp it in place, if it is wrong, you loose it and move it either in or out from the spindle to make it correct.