PDA

View Full Version : Another thread about lubrication

DougA
05-20-2010, 04:48 PM
Hey guys I have some lube questions for you.

#1 Colchester Student lathe. Gear oil for both gearboxes is listed as Shell Telus 41. Local supplier only has 32 and 46 hydraulic oil. I have heard running heavier oil will increase leaks so is 32 my best bet?

#2 Oil points on Colchester. I have an oil can filled with waylube 68. When I try to put some in to oil points none seems to be going in so I end up squirting the waylube on the ways directly. Is this normal?

#3 Bridgeport vertical mill. Has the grease fittings. Again when I try and shoot some in with my oil can I don't seem to get anything in. I tried filling a cheap mini grease gun with waylube but it just made a mess. What do others do?

#4 Fourth and final. The spindle bearings on the Bridgeport. Manual calls for medium Vactra oil. My local supplier of spindle oil in 10, 15, 22, 32 ISO. Which would be correct?

I am fairly new to these heavier machines. Formerly I just had an Atlas 10" so any help would be great.

Doug

MuellerNick
05-20-2010, 05:00 PM
If your supplier can't translate brand types to ISO, you should change him (or ask a manufacturer).

For the "grease" guns, I'm very happy with these Pressol (http://www.pressol.com/portal/page/portal/Pressol/Products?Show=itemDetails&ShowId=2941&cat=184&dspMode=List) oilers. I once shipped about 16 to England that then were distributed to HSMers.

Nick

lazlo
05-20-2010, 06:46 PM
Shell Tellus 41 is now called Tellus 100: an ISO 100 weight hydraulic oil.

I thought Bridgeport indicates light spindle oil (ISO 32) for the spindle, and Medium weight for the power downfeed cup, but it's been awhile...

Mcgyver
05-20-2010, 07:34 PM