PDA

View Full Version : Motor/drive for tramp oil skimmer

Mcgyver
05-23-2010, 02:13 PM
I want to build a disk type tramp oil skimmer and would like ideas/advice on powering it. Can't quantify the load other than suspecting its light, turning a 12" disk through a couple of squeegees at 10 rpm.

Aside from doing the job, I want it cheap to make and run forever....I have no experience with small motors so I don't how feasible a continuous duty is. if its not, or if its big bucks, I even had the crazy idea of powering it somehow via the submersible pump as I've been told they almost do last forever.

Ideas?

CCWKen
05-23-2010, 02:32 PM
Best bang for the buck on low rpm motors is Rotisserie Motors for barbeque grills. They have a pretty high torque and you can get them for less than $15. I bought two spares to have on hand but they're still in the boxes. I use one for certain electroplating setups. I've used the one for over three years now and it keeps going. Granted, I don't run it 24/7 but it's never failed to start. The only thing I've found is that they can start-up in either direction. Not a problem for me but you can stop it and restart it until it runs in the right direction for you. I don't know for sure but you might be able to add a capacitor to make it run in one direction. Some of the Electron-Gurus might be able to answer that.

Bruce Griffing
05-23-2010, 04:47 PM
Try the Surplus Center. Here is an example of something I would consider from them.

https://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?item=5-1712&catname=electric

wierdscience
05-23-2010, 05:51 PM
Ice cream churn motors,cheap orphans can be had at the local thrift stores for $5 or less.

Buy the motor one week,pickup the tub and paddle the next and you could have a dual use tool,just make sure the water sol is gone before you add the condensed milk:D

Mcgyver
05-24-2010, 08:32 PM
thanks for ideas guys....