PDA

View Full Version : 220V Mill - pulled 110V off for accessories?

Rex
06-02-2010, 05:01 PM
I'm running a Millrite at 220V, which runs to a box the houses the F - Off - R switch. I need to add some low-vltage halogen and LED work lighting, plus a powerfeed. I have no 110V outlets nearby. Can I split 11-V off the 220V power and route it to a duplex plug mounted on the machine?

I'm no electrician, so don't use big words :)

darryl
06-02-2010, 05:13 PM
I don't see a problem with that as long as you have enough wires run to the machine. You need the neutral wire as well as ground and the two hots. If there isn't the neutral, the tendency is to use the ground as the return for the duplex outlet. That does give you 110 from either hot but is dangerous and not legal. Also, you have to consider the breaker rating. I believe if it's 15 amp or less, you would be ok, but if it's 20 amp, that would mean that you would use a 20amp duplex outlet, not the typical 15 amp rated one. If the breaker is rated more than 20 amp, that means you don't have the appropriate protection for the 110 duplex outlet you want to install.

If things look bad on these accounts, consider finding a transformer with a 220 volt primary that has the appropriate secondary voltage to run the halogens. Sounds like you will need a transformer anyway. You often would have the option to wire it for 110 or 220, since it's fairly common to have a split primary on a transformer. That would also then give you a source for 110 from that same transformer, of course within the power rating.

Carld
06-02-2010, 05:14 PM
If your using single phase 220v and you have two black hot wires, a white neutral wire and a green ground wire you can use one black wire, the white wire and the green wire if needed to get 110v. 110v will be with the black and white wire and the green is a mechanical ground.

If your running the mill with 3 phase that will NOT work.

Bguns
06-02-2010, 05:18 PM