PDA

View Full Version : stuck camlock lathe chuck

stoneaxe
06-05-2010, 08:32 PM
Lathe newbie here- I recieved my new to me acra 1340 and wish to remove the chuck- unlocked the cam pins but it is not moving- and I am reluctant to whack on it for fear of hurting the bearings- what is the reccomended procedure, please? :) No rust or anything but it may have some dry cosmoline, I sure cleaned enough off the rest of the lathe.:)

Dr Stan
06-05-2010, 08:37 PM
Get yourself a big dead blow mallet. If that's not available use a 2X4 and a 5 lb hammer.

BTW, when you go to mount any work holding device make sure it is clean and free of oil.

Jim Shaper
06-05-2010, 08:44 PM
You've probably got a well fitted chuck from the sounds of it.

As was said; get a dead blow, put some plywood on the ways, and whack the top of the chuck body, rotate and repeat a few times and she'll pop loose.

Btw, camloc chucks are supposed to seat on the taper. If you don't have this issue every time you change chucks, you probably need to shave off some of the backing plate.

Bill Pace
06-05-2010, 08:52 PM
Agree with whats been said -- in fact I have fashioned a piece of hardwood to keep by my lathe that fits behind the chuck on mine, to give it a bump every time I remove it, as it'll sticks slightly each time.

Once you get it off, clean the surfaces with a scotchbrite or similar, and while it may stick a little every time (like mine) it should be easier to get off

stoneaxe
06-06-2010, 12:15 AM
Thanks, folks! Seems the obvious way to do it, but I was reluctant because my Dad , who worked building aircraft engines ,put the fear into me about an impact load on a bearing... I guess he must have come across guys on the line using ball peen hammers, etc! :D I ran bit of Kroil on the joint, tomorrow I will whack it with a hammer and block of wood.
Sometime you can forget just how much knowledge something takes....