PDA

View Full Version : Restoring a Gerstner Chest

Kissfan113
06-08-2010, 03:07 AM
I am taking on the restoration of an old Gerstner O52 11 drawer machinists chest, I was wondering if anyone had experience in this. I am trying to figure out what stain color to use and finish type to use. I also have 4 missing drawers which isn't a problem as I'm a pretty decent woodworker, I simply don't know what material to use, quarter sawn or standard white oak or for that matter how thick the sheet metal bottoms should be, I'm also a biit puzzled by the yellow shaded wood used for the sides and back of the drawers. I hope someone has some ideas that might help me out. I appreciate any and all info, I tried contacting Gerstner for the information, all I got was that they would fully restore my chest for big bucks and drawers were 90.00 each... so in the interest of a good chest and money to buy some more tools I'm hoping someone can help me.

SGW
06-08-2010, 11:43 AM
I'd guess that the drawer sides and back are poplar.

If you have some of the drawers, can't you measure the sheetmetal bottom thickness? I'd guess it to be about 20 gauge, but that's just a guess.

Gerstner uses quarter-sawn "golden oak."

I'm partial to a shellac and wax finish, but polyurethane varnish might be more practical.

I didn't find Gerstner's repair department to be particularly cooperative, either. I've got an old wooden chest very similar to a Gerstner but made by somebody else, that the front panel was all chewed up on. I wrote to Gerstner asking if they would fix it for me, but got the reply that they were not capable of working on anything but their own chests. IMO if they were true craftsmen in wood they could fix anything.

gwilson
06-08-2010, 11:49 AM
Use white oak. If you see medullar rays on the other drawers(which are usually few and far between,despite their claim to use quartered oak) use quartered white oak. Stain to get the "golden" part.

Kissfan113
06-08-2010, 04:29 PM