PDA

View Full Version : how to bypass computer passwords



malbenbut
06-10-2010, 09:09 AM
I have aquired a couple of computers from the local scrapyard when I start them a box appears asking for name and password is there any way of changing these or bypassing them.
Any help much appreciated.
MBB

JoeLee
06-10-2010, 09:13 AM
You might try resetting the BIOS.

JL...................

rockrat
06-10-2010, 09:17 AM
You could try pulling the BIOS battery if there is no BIOS reset. You may have to wait a bit before trying again. Some of the newer BIOS have a flash memory of some sort. I have been told that these systems can be nearly impossible to change the password on if you don't know the old one.

rock~

Jim Doherty
06-10-2010, 09:18 AM
You can pull the hard drive and replace it with a new one and install an older operating system inexpensively.

Jim Doherty

bborr01
06-10-2010, 09:19 AM
Google "resetting windows password" and you will find step by step instructions on how to do it.

I did that a couple years ago and it worked fine.

Brian

BigBoy1
06-10-2010, 09:20 AM
Some time people are too lazy to establish names and set passwords. Just clicking Enter when the screen appears is sometimes just may be enough to get it. Maybe try simple passwords like: password.

Evan
06-10-2010, 09:29 AM
Please clarify. Does the password box also request a user name? Or, is it just a password? Also, what is the screen background colour at that time?

milsurpcollector
06-10-2010, 10:30 AM
If its windows 2k or XP there is free downloadable software that will tell you the admin password. The once you get in disable all the other passwords.

You load the software onto a cd and then change the bios to boot from the cd and follow the instructions.

Its pretty easy if u know what your doing

malbenbut
06-10-2010, 10:42 AM
post by Evan
Please clarify. Does the password box also request a user name? Or, is it just a password? Also, what is the screen background colour at that time?

When computer is switched on it tells maker [H Packard]
after approx 2 seconds the windows xp logo appears
then th monitor switches off for 5 second
It then switches the monitor back on and a box appears asking name and underneath password.
The background is patterned with acouple of double helixes.
I can only turn off computer by pulling out power supply cable.
MBB

Evan
06-10-2010, 11:15 AM
Open the computer and look on the motherboard for a coin cell lithium battery. Remove the battery for an hour and replace it. Make note of the polarity. Then try starting it.

This may not work as sounds like there may be some custom boot software installed or a hardware based system recovery card.

One thing you can try is to enter the username "admin" and leave the password blank. Then press enter.

vpt
06-10-2010, 11:23 AM
If its windows 2k or XP there is free downloadable software that will tell you the admin password. The once you get in disable all the other passwords.

You load the software onto a cd and then change the bios to boot from the cd and follow the instructions.

Its pretty easy if u know what your doing



This worked for me when I bought my last computer.

JoeLee
06-10-2010, 12:33 PM
If its windows 2k or XP there is free downloadable software that will tell you the admin password. The once you get in disable all the other passwords.

You load the software onto a cd and then change the bios to boot from the cd and follow the instructions.

Its pretty easy if u know what your doing

So much for security !!

biometrics
06-10-2010, 01:35 PM
The Bios password feature of some computers is only intended to keep the casual bypasser from turning on the computer and causing a problem. The hardware login credentials are stored in the motherboard CMOS and that memory is erased by removing the battery in most cases. Of course if a casual bypasser (like a co-worker) messes with your machine, it will be obvious because the next time you turn it on, there will be either no password or a warning banner that the CMOS has been messed with.

As far as the security built into the operating system... anything that can be done , can be undone with enough time, money and resources. They only keep honest people honest...

rockrat
06-10-2010, 02:08 PM
Good call Evan on the exact order of boot-up and when the password is requested. In malbenbut's initial post, it sounded as if it was a BIOS based password. Now it is sounding as though it is a 3rd party boot sector type program.

Will be watching the thread to see the results. Puzzles are fun.

rock~

Evan
06-10-2010, 02:09 PM
Yep,anybody that has direct access to the console (the actual machine) can gain access to the operating system. There is no completely secure operating system.

In this case though it appears to be a non-standard log in screen. It is also appearing very quickly. XP takes more than 5 seconds to throw up the password request. HP is (in)famous for messing with XP.

toolmaker76
06-10-2010, 04:44 PM
Inherited my dad's computer a few years back- and could not get into it because of the password, which I did not have any way of finding out.

A fellow I worked with told me how to do it, had to get into the files and change something, and it worked. Just can't remember what the steps were, and it was Windows 98 anyway.

I would say it could easily be done.

Evan
06-10-2010, 07:17 PM
A lot of HP computers are sold with a recovery partition for reinstalling windows. If Windows has been deleted then it will come up with a prompt to recover the system if they only formatted Drive C. I have to go to town right now but I would do a search for HP recovery password or HP Recovery instructions.

MTNGUN
06-10-2010, 09:06 PM
Can you bypass the password by booting from a CD ?

If so, then boot up with a rescue disk like "parted magic", wipe the hard drive, and install a new OS.

Evan
06-10-2010, 09:06 PM
Can you post a picture of the password prompt and the background screen?

edit: HP has a security system called Drivelock. It requires a password to start the system. The encryption key and password are stored in the eeprom in the hard drive. If the password is forgotten the hard drive is unusable. It cannot even be formatted.

Astronowanabe
06-11-2010, 02:14 AM
if it is not the bios level, but an OS level password
can you boot them off of alternative media, floppydisk, cd/dvd/, thumbdrive
(this would require already having a bootable alternative media)
then format the offending drive (I would recommend installing Ubuntu)

you also may be able to swap a HD you have that works in place of the existing primary drive, switch the existing primary to slave and reformat it that way.

v860rich
06-11-2010, 02:18 AM
When it prompts "username" enter admin. Do not enter a password, just press "enter" This will set up an admin account and you can log on through that.
I buy a few laptops with users and passwords that can't be retrived from the sellers and this work 50% of the time.
Sometimes I get one that has a password set on the admin and then I use a program called PC Professor it has never failed to work. It deletes all existing users and passwords and you can start from scratch!!!
Very handy software and cheap, if I remember right.

THANX RICH

People say I'm getting crankier as I get older. That's not it. I just find I enjoy annoying people a lot more now. Especially younger people!!!

Evan
06-11-2010, 02:37 AM
When it prompts "username" enter admin. Do not enter a password, just press "enter" This will set up an admin account and you can log on through that.


I already suggested that but it isn't likely to work. The user logon prompt in XP takes a lot longer than 5 seconds to be displayed.

Peter.
06-11-2010, 02:51 AM
I have aquired a couple of computers from the local scrapyard when I start them a box appears asking for name and password is there any way of changing these or bypassing them.
Any help much appreciated.
MBB

If it's a windows logon screen, then try 'Administrator' as a username and leave the password blank. Doesn't sound like it is though from your description, as above it sounds like 3rd party client logon stuff.

Anyway if that doesn't work, find a Windows XP disk of any type and put it in the drive then boot the PC. If it starts with 'Running Windows Setup' you have your solution.

Personally, I would not use any 'found' computer without putting on a fresh-install anyway. There is no telling what a previous user might have been into. It's as risky as running an open wireless access point in a populated area IMO.

BadDog
06-11-2010, 03:34 AM
Agreed. If it's a BIOS PWD, just clear it. Then in the BIOS, set CD/DVD as first boot device, and finally install OS of choice after completely repartitioning and then formating the HD. I've got a new laptop coming in a few weeks. First thing I'll do is format and reinstall what *I* want, and given the source of your computer, that's almost certainly what you would want anyway.

Black Forest
06-11-2010, 05:07 AM
I would never have a computer of unknown origin in my home or place of business. What happens if you picked up the computer of a pervert or child pornographer and have child porn on your "new" computer. Yeah I know, I am paranoid but that doesn't mean I am wrong!

Open up the box and see what motherboard and cpu, etc., etc. is in there.

Computer components are so cheap nowadays is it really worth it to mess with the unknown?

malbenbut
06-11-2010, 07:28 AM
I did as Evan said remove battery for an hour, I was then able to reboot the computer With windows XP pro. Its now working ok now.
I know these computers came from a local high school so I am quite happy with them.
Thanks to all off you for the suggestion put forward, fortunatelly the first thing I tried worked.
The computers were only 10 for 3 with keyboards and mice.

MBB

Evan
06-11-2010, 09:52 AM
Seems that they must be pretty fast computers or else your estimation of 5 seconds is a bit low. Anyway, nice to see that they work. Now you should do a system restore using the built in reinstall system. That will put the system back to a known clean state. Try tapping the F11 key during startup and then follow the instructions to reinstall XP. It won't take long and there is no extra setup involved since the HP restore system puts it back to an "as new" condition. Since they are school computers there will not be any product activation required for the operating system as they are on a multi seat licence.

You may however run into a problem trying to use the machines on the internet. They are probably configured to work with an active directory server for all network functions including internet use.

malbenbut
06-12-2010, 08:41 AM
When looking in computrer properties speed is 2.4 gig with 512 ram. I can live with that at th price I paid.
MBB

airsmith282
06-12-2010, 10:01 AM
if its a bios password the only way is to use the clear cmos/bios jumper or if that jumper is not there , you have to remove the battery and spike it by reversing the battery polarity, keep in mind some older systems could not handel the reverse battery spike trick but about 98% would and that can and usualy does reset the bios , i have only seen a few that no matter what you did ,it aint letting you in with out the password..

malbenbut
06-12-2010, 10:57 AM
Quote by airsmith
i have only seen a few that no matter what you did ,it aint letting you in with out the password..
----------
It didn't let me I had to reformat the computers.
MBB

bruto
06-12-2010, 12:44 PM
Assuming this is not a bios password but an OS password, try a google search for "Ultimate Boot CD." There's a free downloadable CD image that will give you a number of alternate operating systems and utilities that boot from the CD, including a windows password eraser. I've used it on a couple of ex-dump computers with success, and it's a pretty useful resource to have around anyway, since it could allow you to salvage data on a crashed system, etc.

Evan
06-12-2010, 02:46 PM
It is my understanding that the machines are up and running having been freshly reformatted.

MaxHeadRoom
06-12-2010, 03:00 PM
Look on the MB for a jumper marked Clear Bios.
If it has, then jumper, switch on for 1 minute, then remove.
Max.

Evan
06-12-2010, 03:02 PM
Does anybody actually read the posts after the first one?

MTNGUN
06-12-2010, 09:03 PM
Does anybody actually read the posts after the first one?
LOL. I've been guilty of the same crime, many, many times.

airsmith282
06-12-2010, 11:33 PM
ok back to the first post but he does not say bios ok then lets say its software only then take the drive put it on another computer ID it as a slave and go into the windows OS files find the files related to passwords on the OS and delete the files , that or just back up the stuff you want off the drives reformat and reinstall the OS when you put the drive back as a master in the computer it came from,

to easy

Evan
06-12-2010, 11:57 PM
The problem is already solved.

malbenbut
06-13-2010, 05:36 AM
Yes all up and running. My grandchildren are very pleased I wish I had bought more There were about 25 on the waggon along with a couple of lazer colour printers some flat screen monitors and numerous keyboards.
MBB