PDA

View Full Version : Granite Surface Plate Advice

Dale Lusby
06-16-2010, 05:08 PM
I'm looking at purchasing a surface plate from Enco and wanted to get some thoughts on grade A vs grade B. The site says that the tolerance for Grade A is .0001 and Grade B is .0003. I'm a hobbyist so I figure grade B is good enough for most any application I do. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

duckman
06-16-2010, 05:48 PM
Get the best and biggest plate that you can afford, then there are no second thoughts. :D :D

Dale Lusby
06-16-2010, 06:14 PM
That certainly would be the motto I have lived by for a long time;) . The choice is between a 12x18x3 grade A or a 18x24x3 grade B. I'm leaning towards the grade B since the tolerance isn't too much different and I get twice the plate.

Mcruff
06-16-2010, 06:54 PM
Lets put this more into perspective,

Grade B = Toolroom grade.
Grade A = Inspection grade.
Grade AA = Lab grade.

There are very few people on this board that would ever need anything better than a Toolroom B grade.
I have a Toolroom grade Starrett Crystal pink, that I have had for over 25 years now, it was relapped about 3 years ago to an inspection grade plate. The company I work for re lapped all the plates in the plant, mine worked fine for a B grade for them for many years, the company just insisted on spending money, who was I to turn it down.
Just for more info, Starrett pink granite plates are harder than black granite. They have a higher quartz content so they will also last longer as far as being flat and such.

DICKEYBIRD
06-16-2010, 07:14 PM
Keep in mind the bigger one weighs twice as much as the smaller one. If I recall correctly, my 12x18x3 weighs more than 70 lbs. so the bigger one would weigh over almost 150 lbs.

When I bought mine, I planned on keeping it under the bench and just pull it out when needed. HAH! I forgot how much 70 lbs. is so I made a stand for it. My back thanks me for it every time I use it. Oh yeah, B grade is fine for my HSM use.:)

DICKEYBIRD