PDA

View Full Version : Crankshaft Crossing

aostling
06-20-2010, 12:43 PM
Two days ago my brother and I drove from Las Vegas to Bridgeport (where they filmed Out of the Past in 1947). We crossed Death Valley, and I was amazed that the temperatures were not even over 100F. The sixty miles north of Scotty's Castle are unpaved but well graded. I took this photo at Crankshaft Crossing, a turn-off to a really rough track which connects to the wonderful ghost town of Gold Point in Nevada. I drove that track in my Nissan Stanza twenty-five years ago.

A few more crankshafts have been added to the collection since then. Can you identify any of them?

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u183/aostling/CrankshaftCrossing-1.jpg

strokersix
06-20-2010, 12:51 PM
The two right side in front look like chevy, one early two-piece seal and one later one-piece seal.

Evan
06-20-2010, 01:00 PM
I am not an expert on crankshafts but one early morning many years ago I cooked up a batch of pancakes for breakfast at the bottom of Death Valley. They turned out better than any I can recall making before. My guess is that it had to do with the higher boiling temperature of water at that altitude. Most of my camping has always been done in the mountains at elevations above 3000 feet. At 3000 feet the boiling temperature at standard temp is about 206F. At 5000 feet it is about 202F. At the bottom of Death Valley it is about 213F which acts as a natural pressure cooker to soften plant proteins and cellulosic fibres.

A.K. Boomer
06-20-2010, 01:51 PM
Wonder what those baby's are worth in scrap? ooops - probably shouldn't have said that:p

aostling
06-20-2010, 04:47 PM
At the bottom of Death Valley it is about 213F which acts as a natural pressure cooker to soften plant proteins and cellulosic fibres.

There are mine shafts in Butte which are a mile deep, but they start a mile above sea level. I wonder where the lowest point on earth is which has been visited by man, for making the best pancakes.