PDA

View Full Version : Just Joined

Captain.Jerry
06-22-2010, 10:40 AM
Hello to anyone who takes the time to read this! I have just joined this forum and received my license to post. I am a relative newbie to precision metal work but I have a long association with woodworking (sort of like soft metal but less precise).

I am 72 years old and so I am under more pressure to advance my knowledge quickly than a younger man might be. I have progressed from using a Unimat beyond its capability to an under equipped but growing shop with a 9x20 lathe and an HF X2 mill. I have never made an engine using someone else's plans, although I make use of other peoples methods and procedures that are shared on forums like this.

My engine stable ranges from a very crude single acting, single cylinder air engine, to a more advanced but still crude inverted V4. I have designed and created several axial (wobble plate/swash plate) engines which can be seen on the web. I am presently deeply involved in a more demanding project, a scale reproduction of a steam powered hoist (donkey) from the early 1900's.

I do not claim any expertise, but I do have opinions and an open mind. I look forward to participating in discussions on this forum.

Jerry

Bill in Ky
06-22-2010, 11:03 AM
Welcome Jerry!

Mcgyver
06-22-2010, 11:03 AM
what a smart guy - put his location in without being asked :D

Welcome aboard captain, there's lots of skilled guys here to help you come up the curve...but I suspect you might have more to teach than you're taking credit for :)

dp
06-22-2010, 11:23 AM
Welcome, Jerry - I'd just posted a link to your Donkey project in another thread. Very nice work. I like the way you worked around the clutch issues!

Your gear cutting method is one that comes up often and as gear cutting is always of interest here, your experience is very topical.

Fasttrack
06-22-2010, 12:50 PM
Welcome aboard, Jerry! Definitely post a link to your project!