PDA

View Full Version : Ball screw vs lead screw ... hype?

Farndurk
06-30-2010, 08:22 PM
Well ...... I know it isn't *hype* per se, however is ball type always needed?

I'm pretty new at this, but from what I can tell, ball screw is better for making 400 parts per day (less heat build up on the beds, hence better acuracy?) or if you're mounting heavy parts. I guess the drag of the lead screw type makes for less predictable slide actions and such that affect machining. Backlash is less as well. Got it.

But if you're only making 5 parts per day, no larger than a CD jewelcase and just as light, and the sequence times are around 4 minutes, not to mention backlash compensation in the software .... is ballscrew really needed? Keep the ways/rails/gibs lubed and clean, especially if they are already in excellent and *tuned* condition bla bla and it should be fine, que no?

It just seems like you could use a nicely made plain old ZX45 clone for much more than the *big guys* will tell you (Smithy et al). Of course, no *pro* would ever DARE use a leadscrew with a cnc rig. The shame of it all! ;)

Just curious.

Farmdirt.

wierdscience
06-30-2010, 08:30 PM
Leadscrews properly done are fine,anti-backlash nuts are the key.It is easier and a lot cheaper to get accurate leadscrews than it is ballscrews.IIRC the best I could find for anywhere reasonable money were .009" per foot accuracy,while the mid-range acme leadscrews were .003"per foot.

If you want to see what leadscrews on a CNC mill can do have a look at Evan's mill.Completely homebrew mill featuring Acme leadscrews running in plastic nuts if I recall.Does some very fine work.

dp
06-30-2010, 09:38 PM
Ball screws automate well, as in CNC. Either will work well with hand wheels.

ieezitin
06-30-2010, 10:02 PM
Apples and oranges. You donít have a case.

Friction, think about it the contact point of a ball verses a flat spiral flat. Enough said.