PDA

View Full Version : Flies!!!!

laddy
07-07-2010, 06:35 PM
How do you keep flies from invading the shop? I open the door for 2 seconds and have flies buzzing around. I can't concentrate on what I am doing with these damn things dive bombing me HELP!!!!!! thanks Fred

PeteF
07-07-2010, 06:41 PM
Personal hygiene?

PeteF
07-07-2010, 06:49 PM
Seriously though, flies are cold blooded so they aren't able to fly when its really cold. When I was an apprentice my first job of the morning was grab the vacuum and go around the workshop vacuuming up all the flies before they warmed up enough to really pi$$ us off all day. Unfortunately the nights needed to be cold and it didn't stop their uninvited mates from coming in, but it was a start.

John Stevenson
07-07-2010, 06:58 PM
I have invested heavily into ozone friendly fly traps that don't rely on ozone depleting chemicals to do the job.

I have about 10 freaking great spiders. :rolleyes:

Black_Moons
07-07-2010, 07:12 PM
There are ozone depleting fly traps? Sounds awsome where do I get some of those?

More seriously, I allways found those giant sticky traps you hang from the ceiling very effectively.. Much to the horror of when you accidently bump into one and get a glue covered rope with 1000 flys on it stuck in your hair.

But yea.. put them well outta the way and they work well.

Too_Many_Tools
07-07-2010, 07:32 PM
A great way to control flies in the shop is to leave a UV bug zapper running in the shop at night.

Flies like light...and with the UV zapper the only light source around they will fly to their deaths.

Remember not to have any flammables around when the zapping starts.

A story...a friend of mine build a super big zapper years ago to take of birds up in his warehouse. The birds would fly by the grid he had installed and *ZAP* BANG* ...drop smoking out of the sky on to the warehouse floor.

The place did smell of burnt feathers all the time.

TMT

vpt
07-07-2010, 07:38 PM