PDA

View Full Version : Changing chucks in lathe

GBertolet
07-14-2010, 08:30 PM
I'm a newbie to the machine world. I recently picked up a used Rockwell 10 X 36 lathe. I am getting 3 to 4 thou out of roundness with the 3 jaw chuck during setup. Is this normal? Anyway I want to put the 4 jaw chuck on, just to do it. The 3 jaw does not want to budge. What is the best way to remove the old chuck without breaking anything? It could of been on there for years.

wooleybooger
07-14-2010, 10:04 PM
i dont know the 10",i have a 14". it has the L spindle nose. is the 4-jaw original to your machine? if it has female threads, it simply screws on like a nut on a bolt. if the chuck has a male thread with a tapered bore and a keyslot its an L spindle nose. that one has a lock ring that pulls the chuck tight onto the tapered spindle nose. both of these have the righty tighty,lefty loosey thread. put up a pic and someone can tell you real quick.

Oldbrock
07-14-2010, 10:16 PM
Describe the back of the four jaw. Is it a female thread, a female taper with an outside large thread, or a short female taper with three or four pins sticking out of the back. Let us know and we will be able to assist. Peter

rmancini
07-14-2010, 10:27 PM
If there's a lock ring with several large spanner wrench holes, it's a L00 spindle. If so, lock the spindle and loosen the lock ring (L/H thread), if you don't have a spanner, you can use a piece of drill rod.
If it's not the L00, here's a link that can help you:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/RockwellLathe/
Lots of good info there.
Rich

BadDog
07-14-2010, 10:48 PM
The 10" should be a threaded spindle. I don't think they even offered L00 on that one, and I know they didn't offer D, A or DIN mounts.