PDA

View Full Version : OT: Poor economy or Poor business practice

squirrel
09-11-2010, 10:42 AM
This is really confusing, 5 heating and A/C contractors have been contacted for a quote on a new commercial installation and NO ONE has provided a quote. This is shocking since it's a 5 digit project, are they that busy or just stupid?

Called the local cement contractor to schedule a time to pour our patio slab at the house, guess what 2 weeks and no reply ( we did call twice).

So is the economy really poor or is it poor business practice?

sansbury
09-11-2010, 10:49 AM
Neither. Your phone is broken ;-)

RobbieKnobbie
09-11-2010, 10:53 AM
Were these all small-time independant contractors? I've had some really BAD experiences with that sort of business, mostly regarding reliability.

As sad as it may seem, the contractors that work through home depot have given me really good service. I'd assume because home depot does courtesy calls after the job to check up on their work.

Tony Ennis
09-11-2010, 11:01 AM
I have never found the types you mention to be reliable. Roofers are the worst.

Dr Stan
09-11-2010, 11:06 AM
I've had similar problems, especially when I had the slab & foundation poured for my shop. I've found word of mouth is the best way to locate a good contractor. Ask around and find someone who is a friend of a friend, that's how I found both my concrete man and my HVAC repairman.

Highpower
09-11-2010, 11:07 AM
I've had the same experience with Heating & A/C, Tree Service, Concrete & Tuckpointing, and Roof & Siding Contractors. All well before the economy tanked......

If I contact 5 different companies, only one (SOMETIMES two) ever show up to give a bid. And the ones that DO show up usually do a lousy job. So I guess the GOOD ones are all too busy. ;)

squirrel
09-11-2010, 11:21 AM