PDA

View Full Version : Knobs

Evan
11-29-2003, 10:27 PM
I like knobs. I had a minor epiphany this afternoon while making a knob. I think one of the major things that distinguishes machinists from everyone else is that we like knobs. I have been programming since 1963. I bought a new gas stove a few years ago because it was the very last one with a knob to set the temperature of the oven. I don't freekin want to program my oven to cook some food. Just set the knob to 325 and be done with it. Thank you. I like knobs. When I have nothing else to do (not in this life) I make a knob. I like things with lots of knobs, the more the better. I have a microwave with no knobs. I hate it.

While I am on the subject of knobs I thought I would show you a knob. I made it this afternoon. Due to my perhaps inordinate fondness for knobs I am willing to spend inordinate amounts of time making one. I don't recall who mentioned this but I made this knob using the bull gear on the spindle of my SB9 (took the guard off). I made a very simple indexing attachment and used a 60 degree thread cutting tool turned sideways to cut the grooves.

http://vts.bc.ca/img/knobindex.jpg

G.A. Ewen
11-29-2003, 10:33 PM
Damn, you're good! http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//wink.gif

[This message has been edited by G.A. Ewen (edited 11-29-2003).]

darryl
11-30-2003, 12:10 AM
Knobody can deny your creativity.

Paul Alciatore
11-30-2003, 12:33 AM
I like knobs too. The one you made is a work of art.