PDA

View Full Version : Ettco vs Procunier, etc,

pntrbl
09-13-2010, 02:08 AM
I recently bought a small lonely looking Ettco No 2 tapping head on E-Bay for the princely sum of .99. Local pickup. How could I go wrong?

It didn't seem to work too good tho, but we need to remember I've never used a tapping head before so how would I know? The only answer was to take it apart.

The pleasant surprise was finding out how simple it was inside. A friction piece with tapers at both ends carries the tap and is lightly spring loaded into a matching tapered drum at the top. The drum is directly connected to the #2 Morse shank and that's what drives the tap in.

Another drum at the bottom is constantly rotating at a higher rpm in the reverse direction via a shaft and some gearing on the side. Lifting up connects the lower drum to the friction piece, which reverses the tap, and out it comes.

After a little TLC and a fresh lower bushing it's working just fine.

There is an issue in that it only came with one collet, and it's a tricky looking little thing, but I'm gonna have a shot at making the others I'll need. We'll see ......

So, being happy with my Ettco experience so far I spot an Ettco 4B on auction at good ol' Reliable Tools. My little No 2 is only capable up to a #10 in steel and the 4B goes from 1/4 to 5/8's! Yeah. Perfect complement to my stable.

But you know how things skyrocket at Reliable. I dunno why I go there. Puttin' it on the watch list don't hurt a bit tho, so I did and I'll be damned if it didn't go off for a paltry $46. If my foot would reach I'd be kickin' myself in the butt.

This begs the question referenced in the title tho. Is the Ettco line inferior to Procunier, Tapmatic, and the etc. brands in some way I don't know about? Are they cheap because nobody wants them?