PDA

View Full Version : Need help identifying Valenite insert holder

atty
09-16-2010, 11:57 AM
In a frustrated moment last night, I began digging through some archives and came across this insert holder. I was fully confident that Google would yield all the info on this holder I would need, but alas.....NADA. I understand from some posts that perhaps Valenite was bought out by Kennametal, who may have killed off a bunch of Valenite's product lines, etc.

In any event, I'm a lost pup. I'm an insert newbie on top of that. Any way of determining a current insert number/type? Looks like a pretty good holder, so I'd hate to relegate it back to the "I'll get to that later" pile. It's obviously a threading insert: thickness .125 and mounting hole looks to be .0875. I have a bolt threading project coming up, and I thought I might give an insert a try.

http://i591.photobucket.com/albums/ss352/atty5420/100_3760.jpg
http://i591.photobucket.com/albums/ss352/atty5420/100_3761.jpg

wierdscience
09-16-2010, 07:24 PM
You'll need to start by figuring the IC or inscribed circle.That is the largest circle that will fit inside the bounds of the insert shape.Usually its something common like 1/4-3/8-1/2 etc.

The rest of the info needed to spec an insert can be found here-

http://www.carbidedepot.com/formulas-insert-d.htm

motorworks
09-16-2010, 07:48 PM
Sorry
I do not think it's a threading tool.
The insert look like a TNMG-332...
The holder MTENN negative cutter.
Great for chamfers.
e

atty
09-16-2010, 10:48 PM
Well.....my newbie insert label is still intact. From my continuing research, It thought an MTENN was a threading holder.....maybe not.

I did find out from Walter, who apparently consumed Valenite, that it takes a TNMG222, recommended M3 for threading. Does that shed any light?