PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try adapting an HF bar bender to tube?



kenc
12-03-2003, 07:26 PM
I have one of those cheap HF bar benders - typically $49 on sale. I was wondering how much effort it would be to adapt it to tube? Anyone try it? Never having had a hands on with a tube bender I'm not sure how much effort it would entail.

Ken

ibewgypsie
12-03-2003, 09:10 PM
Ken, I'd autocad it first... Get the distance between the bolts,

Post it.. I got one too...

Or get the measurements and I'll cad it for US..

David..

jfsmith
12-03-2003, 09:27 PM
I would like to know this also. My bender is setup and has done some work, but I was wondering about tubing.


Jerry

CCWKen
12-03-2003, 10:46 PM
Don't see why you can't. You just have to make the dies. Pipe/tube won't take as tight a radius as bar but the same principle is used. The HF bender is setup for 1 1/2 inches as the largest radius, isn't it? (3" die) How much room is left on the die plate? Small pipe/tube might work. When you start getting up around 3/4 - 1" tubing, you need much larger dies.