PDA

View Full Version : Adventures in threading

woodnerd
09-30-2010, 07:47 AM
I'm just learning to thread with my old Craftsman 101 lathe. I'm having a couple of problems ...

One, the finish on the threads seems rather rough. I'm taking very small final cuts, but I get a lot of burrs and the surface of the threads is "flaky" looking. I'm using a 60* carbide insert tool in a quick change tool post. There's no way to adjust this to get a back rake, is this the wrong tool to use? Also, should it be on the centerline of the spindle or higher/lower?

Two, the lathe is cutting exactly half the TPI I'm selecting. According to the chart on the front, it appears that I need to disengage the "slide gear" but there's nothing in the manual showing where this thing is. Any ideas?

Tony Ennis
09-30-2010, 07:50 AM
re: side gear - try pulling/pushing one of the QCGB's handles. I think the left one.

woodnerd
09-30-2010, 08:36 AM
OK, I solved the TPI issue, the owners manual calls it a "sliding gear" instead of a slide gear. It's located at the back of the side gears, you have to loosen a bolt and swing the plate with all the gears mounted on it down, then one gear slides out on it's shaft. Kind of a pain, but it stays "out" for all but the smallest threads.

Thanks Tony. While it wasn't what you thought, it pointed me in the right direction.

Boot
09-30-2010, 08:46 AM
Do you have your compound set at 29 1/2 degrees. You want to be cutting with only one side of the tool until the very last cuts. You should always be on center. Plus it is always best to consider the type of material and to use a suitable cutting fluid accordingly. Some steel will do what you ar saying if not any cutting fluid is being used. Very important to set compound at 29 1/2 degrees. All my years in a machine shop (37) I never plunged straight into parts with threading tool.

luthor
09-30-2010, 09:09 AM